Get Adobe Flash player


General Nursing

      Choosing a Nursing or Midwifery Programme

It is always important to investigate the credentials/ legal status of a nursing or midwifery school or programme of study before investing time and money in the pursuit of your professional education. All potential nursing and or midwifery students should be aware that any nursing or midwifery programme of study they are considering should be approved by the Nursing Council of Jamaica (NCJ) before they enrol. A current list of the Council’s approved and non- approved nursing and midwifery educational programmes is as follows

Approved Educational Programmes for Registered General Nurses.

1.      Excelsior Community College, School of Nursing

2.      International University of the Caribbean

3.      Northern Caribbean University

4.      Caribbean School of Nursing :University of Technology, Papine Campus

5.      Caribbean School of Nursing: University of Technology, Montego Bay Campus

6.      University of the West Indies School of Nursing, Mona Campus

7.      University of the West Indies School of Nursing, Western Campus

8.      Brown’s Town Community College School of Nursing 

9.      Knox Community College School of Nursing

Unapproved Nursing and Midwifery Educational Programmes

The following Schools of Nursing and Midwifery were directed to discontinue the offerings of the respective programmes as of the dates stated, until they have met the requirements stipulated by the Nursing Council of Jamaica. Whenever this is done, the Council will re- assess the institutions/ programmes and issue the appropriate notice.

Sigma College of Nursing and Applied Science: Effective June 2015, this School has been instructed not to take in any new cohorts of students in the Bachelor of Science degree programme in nursing. The School is no longer approved to offer the transition Enrolled Assistant Nursing Programme to the Bachelor of Science Degree Programme for registered nurses.

 NB:     The Council has not approved any School of Nursing or Midwifery to offer part- time programmes in nursing and or midwifery.


Applicants normally require a minimum academic qualification to enter nursing and midwifery programmes. The Nursing Council recognises that learning can and does occur outside of traditional routes and so is committed to the principles of equity and accessibility, and facilitates entry to programmes through non-traditional routes.

On that basis, Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) as an assessment process that determines the extent to which an applicant has achieved the required competencies and standards for entry into to these programmes, is being rigorously defined by educators on the Nursing Council.  Being the regulatory body for nursing and midwifery education, the Council is developing the RPL Programme that will be communicated to institutions that offer those programmes for implementation. Assessors of applications will be required to give due regard to professional and statutory accredited study that when the RPL system is implemented, it will not compromise the specifics of academic and clinical standards for nursing and midwifery education and practice.

Credit recognition for prior academic achievements will only be approved by the Council when prior learning is comparable in terms of content, quality, award and duration to the units of study within the relevant programmes. The guidelines determined by the Council must be followed.

 PLA is therefore not yet accepted as entry requirement for Nursing and Midwifery education.